Latest Inspiration

My latest inspiration in cake decorating is actually from cookie decorating sites that I discovered on YouTube by accident.  I spent the past few days voraciously absorbing information from posts of super talented “cookiers” (as they are known in the cookie decorating world).

I love how SweetAmbs’ decorated cookies are very classical and feminine in design.  Her soft and muted color palette perfectly complements her style.  I can’t wait to try out the new techniques and designs I have gleaned from her site.  There are so many lovely cookies that I would like to try out, I don’t know where to begin!

One of the first that I would like to try my hands on is this cameo cookie, replacing the cameo with a flower since I do not have a cameo mold yet, although I have ordered one from an Etsy vendor and am eagerly awaiting its arrival!

Another favorite is the amazing Sugar Belle.  What I love about her site is that her posts are packed with really useful information, from recipes to where to buy the tools she uses to tutorials by other great cookiers.  She really is very generous with her information which is nice to see.  Of course, her creativity and amazing talent are beyond words.  Here is a handy color chart that she has put together and has graciously shared with her readers.

All this cookie decorating has inspired me to try out some new rolled sugar cookie recipes and new techniques which I will post in future blog posts.

Leave a Reply

